Welcome to the Progcast for our final pre-season game of 2019. A big welcome to our visitors from Whitehawk. We’ll be back to a full-size Progcast for next week’s season opener against Enfield Town. In the meantime, here’s what’s in today’s issue:

Rook divider

DARREN FROM THE DUGOUT

Hear Darren’s thoughts on today’s game by clicking the Play button below:

Rook divider

CHAIRMAN’S NOTES

Good afternoon and welcome to the Dripping Pan for our final pre-season friendly before we kick off our Isthmian Premier campaign next Saturday when Enfield Town are the visitors here. I’d like to welcome the fans, players, management and officials from Whitehawk and of course, wish them well for their season in the Isthmian South-East Division.

Our pre-season campaign so far has been mixed. We’ve won four out of five so far, which is obviously pleasing, but we still haven’t yet had the chance to field our strongest team thanks to absences and injuries. 

On Tuesday night our strong starting eleven dominated the game against Haywards Heath Town and we went in 2-1 at the break, but in the second period when we made changes, we conceded three goals to lose 4-2. Whilst we were happy to give the squad game time, we conceded three especially poor goals which is frustrating. Darren had to do without the likes of Leon, Stacey and Frankie on Tuesday, all of whom would certainly feature in our strongest squad.

It is great to be facing Whitehawk today as there are few more inclusive clubs in the Non-League scene than the Hawks and Lewes, and this weekend marks the annual Brighton Pride celebrations. They are marking the celebration themselves tomorrow with a special event at The Enclosed Ground when they host a special mixed-gender game between the Premier League All-Stars and Rainbow Rovers. Gates open from 12.30pm with kick-off at 3pm. Admission is £10 for Adults, £5 for Concessions and Kids under 10 go free.

I’d like to say thank you to every who invested in our 3G facilities a few years ago under the community share issue. This week saw the last repayments plus interest paid to investors and we are now starting the process of thinking about the next phases of development of The Pan. More details of this will be shared throughout the coming season.

Hopefully you will have visited the new, revamped Rook Inn. Steve Keegan, who was co-opted on the board in the summer, has done a superb job so far in remodelling the bar and bringing in new guest beers, although it seems we had ignored the fact some of our players, such as a certain blonde midfielder, are missing the Foster’s, so we will be shipping in such exotic brews for them in the future!

Enjoy the game. Thanks for your support in pre-season and I look forward to seeing you all back next week for the game against Enfield Town.

Rook divider

GET 45% OFF YOUR KAPPA SPORTSWEAR

Lewes FC e-programme

Our friends and official kit partners, Kappa, are offering Lewes FC owners a whopping 45% discount on all non-sale Kappa shirts, skirts, socks, shorts, hoodies, leggings, headwear, trainers, pants, bags, belts, jackets and more.

Owners should see this week’s newsletter for the discount code. If you’re not already an owner, sign up today and we’ll send you the code so you can start saving straight away!

Rook divider

PRE-SEASON SO FAR

Here’s a breakdown of our pre-season results to date, plus video highlights from our midweek trip to Haywards Heath Town, which included special goals for both sides.

OpponentScore (Lewes first)
FC United of Manchester2-1
Peacehaven & Telscombe4-1
Eastbourne Borough3-1
East Grinstead3-1
Met Police4-1
Haywards Heath2-4

Here are the highlights from the midweek trip to Haywards Heath, as provided by Your Instant Replay:

Rook divider
GR Teamwearer
Rook divider

LEWES FC FIXTURES 2019/20

Sat Aug 10 Enfield Town H
Tue Aug 13 Worthing A
Sat Aug 17 Bowers & Pitsea H
Sat Aug 24 Margate A
Mon Aug 26 Horsham H
Sat Aug 31 Leatherhead A
Sat Sep 7 FA Cup 1st Qual Rd
Wed Sep 11 FA Cup 1st Qual Rd – Replays
Sat Sep 14 Potters Bar Town H
Sat Sep 21 Wingate & Finchley H FA Cup 2nd Qual Rd
Sat Sep 28 Brightlingsea Regent A
Mon Sep 30 Carshalton Athletic A
Sat Oct 5 Haringey Borough H FA Cup 3rd Qual Rd
Sat Oct 12 East Thurrock United A
Sat Oct 19 Cray Wanderers H FA Cup 4th Qual Rd
Wed Oct 23 Corinthian-Casuals H
Sat Oct 26 FA Trophy 1st Qual Rd
Wed Oct 30 FA Trophy 1st Qual Rd – Replays
Sat Nov 2 Cheshunt A
Sat Nov 9 Hornchurch H FA Cup 1/Trophy 2nd Qual Rd
Sat Nov 16 Kingstonian A
Sat Nov 23 Bishops Stortford A FA Trophy 3rd Qual Rd
Sat Nov 30 Folkestone Invicta H FA Cup 2
Sat Dec 7 Leatherhead H
Sat Dec 14 Merstham A FA Trophy 1
Thu Dec 26 Bognor Regis Town H
Wed Jan 1 Horsham A
Sat Jan 4 Haringey Borough A
Sat Jan 11 Carshalton Athletic H FA Trophy 2
Sat Jan 18 Cray Wanderers A
Sat Jan 25 East Thurrock United H
Sat Feb 1 Corinthian-Casuals A
Sat Feb 8 Cheshunt H
Sat Feb 15 Enfield Town A
Wed Feb 19 Worthing H
Sat Feb 22 Brightlingsea Regent H
Sat Feb 29 Wingate & Finchley A
Sat Mar 7 Kingstonian H
Sat Mar 14 Hornchurch A
Sat Mar 21 Bowers & Pitsea A
Sat Mar 28 Merstham H
Sat Apr 4 Potters Bar Town A
Sat Apr 11 Margate H
Mon Apr 13 Bognor Regis Town A
Sat Apr 18 Bishops Stortford H
Sat Apr 25 Folkestone Invicta A

Rook divider

CREDITS AND LEGAL

The BetVictor Isthmian League strongly support recent FA statements that there should be a zero tolerance approach against racism and all forms of discrimination. Accordingly, any form of discriminatory abuse, whether it be based on race or ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender, faith, age, ability or any other form of abuse will be reported to The Football Association for action by that Association. (The FA 0800 085 0508/Kick It Out 020 7253 0162)

Lewes 2000 FC Limited. Registered in England and Wales with Company Registration Number 03790979. Lewes 2000 FC Limited is 100% owned by Lewes Community Football Club.

Honorary President Terry Parris
Chairman Stuart Fuller
Directors
Charlie Dobres, Eddie Ramsden, Stuart Fuller, John Peel, Ed Briggs, Jon Ruben, Roger Warner, Galia Orme
Non-executive directors Michelle Bowie Krige, Karen Dobres, Steve Keegan
Club Secretary
Barry Collins
Youth Secretary Kevin Brook
Operations Manager Duncan Thompson

Equality FC Campaign Manager Karen Dobres

Life Members
Mr and Mrs Brook, Vic Blunt, Pat Dartnell, Gary Elphick, Gordon Fowlie, Peter Hiscox, Billy Nixon, Derrick Parris, Terry Parris, Jimmy Quinn, P. Swaysland, Steve Ibbitson, Jason Hopkinson, Steve White, Martin Elliot, Kevin Fingerneissl, Kevin Powell, David and Barbara Arnold, Roger and Cathy Feltham, Ethel Treagus, Roy Dartnell RIP, Ron Moore, Derek Southouse, Ray Smith, Ken Carter RIP


Caretaker Manager Ross Standen
First Team Coach Tony Coade
Physiotherapists Paul Baskin & Xavier Smith

Under-18s Manager Dale Hurley
Under-18s Assistant Manager Craig Stevens
Under-18s coaches Jake Legrange and Johnny Buggy

Golden Rook Rob Read
Web Editor Stuart Fuller
Progcast Editors Paul Sheppard and Duncan Thompson
Progcast Designer Barry Collins
Club Photographer James Boyes